Today Sunday 3rd June 2018 witnessed the further defection from the People's Democratic Party in Rivers State; thousands of her members defected to the All Progressives Congress in Oyigbo Local Government Area. They decried lack of infrastructural development in the LGA since the inception of the Wike led Administration. 

The thousands of defectors were led by;

1. Hon Sir Bright Jacob- Former Commissioner for Commerce and Industry in Wike's Government

2. Hon Nnamdirim Ihute- Former House of Assembly Member and CTC Chairman

3. Hon. Monday Ekekenta- Former Council Chairman, Former Perm Sec in R/S

4. Sir Nicolas N. Okereukwu

5. Mr Promise Onyeukwu

6. Chief Nwabugo Adiete

7. Comr. Gift Onyeukwu

8. Mr Francis Afoman

On ground to receive them were members of the State Executives of Rivers APC led by the State Chairman- Hon Ojukaye Flag Amachree who welcomed them and assured them of equal right in the party.